Drs. Heather O’Brien and Edie Rasmussen awarded as ASIS&T 2023 Distinguished Members

Congratulations to Dr. Heather O’Brien (Professor) and Dr. Edie Rasmussen (Professor Emeritus and former Director of UBC School of Information) for being recognized as Association for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T) 2023 Distinguished Members. This status is only awarded to individuals who have demonstrated a commitment to their profession through long-term pursuits in education, and service to both the community and the information science and technology field.

Dr. Rasmussen was a past president of ASIS&T and a holder of the Watson Davis Award. Dr. O’Brien was awarded the 2022 ASIS&T Research in Information Science Award; she is also the Annual Meeting Vice-Chair this year, and General Chair for 2024.

The award winners will be recognized at the 2023 ASIS&T meeting, which will be held this year from October 27 to October 31 in London, UK.